The current regional structure, appendix 1 of the guidelines for regional air navigation meetings and the internal regulations for their behaviour (doc. 8144-AN/874), includes the following regions: Initially, the world was divided into ten air regions in 1945: North Atlantic, Euromed, Middle East, Caribbean, South Asia, South Atlantic, South Pacific, North Pacific, South America and Indian Ocean. The need for practical implementation of air navigation services and facilities and their coordinated implementation in certain areas where operating conditions and other relevant parameters were comparable led to the decision to divide the Earth`s surface into a series of “regions” where there were similarly different and specific air navigation problems. This structure was revised in 1952 and the regions were reduced to eight. The North Pacific and South Pacific regions, as well as South America and the South Atlantic, were merged. For each of these regions, complementary regional procedures (SUPPS) are developed and published in Doc 7300: Regional Complementary Procedures. These procedures should not be contrary to the provisions of the ICAO or PANS annexes. SUPPS do not have the same status as SARPS. These are recommended to States Parties for global use, while Primes are recommended to States Parties to apply them in the groups of flight information regions for which they are relevant.

In 1980, the Southeast Asian region was renamed Asia-region. In the late 1950s, a new reorganization became necessary to overcome some of the problems caused by overlapping regions and the non-inclusion of certain areas. It was completed in 1964. The decision increased the number of regions to nine, eliminated overlapping regions, included the associated polar regions, changed the name of the Euro-Mediterranean region to a European region, and created a North American region including Canada, the United States and the associated polar region.